Code as Craft; Coder as Artisan.

So I hope I’ve mentioned that I work with a bunch of really smart people, right? No? Well, I should have. These folks are whip-smart, and probably the best collaborators/coders I know. It’s been a pleasure.

But you don’t have to take my word for this. One of the guys has decided to share his thoughts about best code practices in his new blog. Jon considers himself something of an artisan, but in the journeyman tradition. He revels in continuing to learn and improve upon the craft that he’s chosen. He’s also a doer, and not just a talker. True to that form, he’s decided to make the exercise about passing on the contents of his brain and fostering discussion, rather than pontificating. I think he’s on to something.

Check it out at Code Artisan: The Art of Writing Software.

Code Artisan blog

Leave a Reply

