What’s on TV?

Most of us watch just enough TV to make having a good TV guide a valuable tool. There are a number out there (EvokeTV, TitanTv, TV.com, tv.yahoo.com, Television.AOL.com, and zap2it.com to name a few). Pick your poison: Some have ways to “subscribe”, some have search functions, some have ratings.

The point is, if you want your fill of “what’s on”, it’s only as far away as your browser.

Here’s my problem: I want my browser to talk to my TV.

I know, I know. I could get Cable or Satellite. They have all kinds of cool TV listing control panel goodness. But why should I tie my listing source to my delivery mechanism? Heaven help me if I still watch broadcast TV (p.s. I don’t!). So what’s a boy to do?

Anybody else have a suggestion?

2 thoughts on “What’s on TV?

  1. That extra little swish of the brush in the bowl, and then flicking it at your co-worker… Great Fun!

    My wife has been programming with her current company for over ten years and through many transfers of ownership. When she first started, the company was maybe 40 people including all sales and development staff. Now, her division is one of many international sites with thousands of employees.

    In the early days, her company would organize events – completely voluntary – like softball and picnics. Many were on company time, and all were company-funded. They would have yearly award ceremonies with fun awards given to team members who exhibited odd/fun characteristics on the job. My wife, for example, was awarded the “twiggy award” for being able to eat anything at lunch and still be thin as a twig.

    These days with the bigger corporation are different. Everything that made the corporate experience fun is gone. The yearly Christmas parties are nice, but that’s all they do any more. There was talk of forming a recreational group that wasn’t neccessarily an explicit part of the company, but that petered out, likely lost in the drudgery of the beige cubicle landscape mentality.

    I guess making the work itself fun could improve productivity, but I think that a corporate climate with high morale, no matter how you get it, can have a positive effect on production.

    I think there is also a significant difference between liking the work you do and liking the company you work for. If you enjoy your work you may be more productive, sure. But if you appreciate your job, you’re more likely to go out of your way when push comes to shove.

    Now, I don’t know if laying Silly String cans around the office is going to affect the kind of positive morale boost that corporate administrators would desire. But making the workplace even slightly less of “just a paying job” can have big benefits.

  2. Despite pretty much agreeing with your conclusions, I have a lingering discomfort with a simple “anything is probably better than nothing” platitude (that’s NOT what you said, of course. As you point out, it never has to be so simplistic). I don’t think, for example, that any company expends efforts in that direction, without some expectation of impact. And I’d bet they’re hoping for a positive one. But I’ve also seen the “dark side” of company morale boosters, even when they have the best of intentions.

    Is there a fine line? What’s the right balance?

    I agree with you that the difference between liking what you do, and the company you work for are potentially huge (hence my rather snarky comments concerning some types of work). But I guess I really didn’t address the flip side: that the environment can sometimes be equally toxic. Frankly, that’s what I run afoul of most often.

    Thanks for reminding me.

Leave a Reply

