Resident Evil: Apocalypse

I am reminded of one thing, this past Friday: Never go to see a movie with mass-market appeal on opening day. Would that I had remembered and gone to see Lucas’ latest redux instead, I would have at least felt more justified in feeling my unjustified cultural superiority.

Well! What a fine end-of-summer, relatively brainless, cool-looking romp THAT was. Kick-ass women (and men) cutting swaths of fury through crowds of reanimated dead (and mostly LOSING!), while evil corporate types sell them short to protect their collective tushes!

Milla Jovovich must be having on of the worst days since Ripley, but she seems to take it in stride. There are a lot of crazy scenes here, and if you don’t mind your action over the top, and your premises thin, you’ll probably get a kick out of this as well.

I mean, it almost made me forget the even more ridiculous news around me! That’s how I like my escapism…

